About WinSport

WinSport is creating one of the most unique winter sport environments in the world, where athletes of all levels and disciplines will have world class facilities and services to train and maintain an active lifestyle.
A not-for-profit organization, WinSport owns and operates Canada Olympic Park in Calgary, the Bill Warren Training Centre at the Canmore Nordic Centre in Canmore Alberta, and the Beckie Scott High Performance Training Centre on Haig Glacier Alberta. WinSport also funds two-thirds of the operating budget for the Olympic Oval at the University of Calgary. Money spent at WinSport facilities supports not only Canadian high-performance athletes, but introduces thousands of Calgarians to winter sports each year.
Formerly known as the Calgary Olympic Development Association (CODA), WinSport was founded in 1956 to bid on behalf of Calgary to host an Olympic Winter Games. CODA successfully won the bid from the International Olympic Committee on Sept. 30, 1981, for Calgary to become the host city for the XV Olympic Winter Games in 1988.
Following the Olympics in 1988 and benefitting from endowment funds left for the Games’ legacy, CODA has evolved into a new vision for Canadian winter sport, with the transition to WinSport. Through WinSport, the legacy of the 1988 Games is not only thriving, but leading edge.
The organization built new facilities and operated, maintained and rejuvenated the facilities from the Games and is committed to supporting Canadian athletes for generations to come with the creation of the world’s leading Winter Sports Institute. Learn more about WinSport's Contribution to Sport.

To Be the World’s Leading Winter Sport Institute
To provide excellence in winter sports facilities and training for Canadian Athletes to discover, develop and excel, through a sustainable business model.
Board of Directors
  • Robert (Bob) Hamilton, Chair
  • Scott Hutcheson, Vice Chair
  • Lesley Conway, Past Chair, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Barry Heck, WinSport President and CEO
  • Don Archibald
  • Kevin Benson
  • Cheryl Bernard
  • Peter Cohos
  • Jim Peplinski
  • Jim Riddell
  • Perry Spitznagel
  • Deborah Yedlin
  • Paul Zonneveld
  • Kelly Dearborn, Government of Canada
  • Lloyd Bentz, Province of Alberta
  • Gregory Steinraths, City of Calgary
  • Dru Marshall, University of Calgary
Executive Team
  • Barry Heck, President and CEO
  • Kim Jones, Vice President and General Counsel
  • John Sutherland, Chief Operating Officer
  • Bernie Asbell, VP Sport Operations
  • Karen Brodie, Director Human Resources
  • Jason McKay, Director Food & Beverage / Event Sales
  • Mike Tanner, Director of Venues
  • Jennifer Konopaki, Director Sport Leadership
  • Kevin Jones, Controller
  • Mike McKean, Director Information Technology
  • John Francis, Director Marketing, Communications & Sponsorships
Annual Report 2015